Album Release Preview: Genre-Hopping for April Tunes

Posted: 08/04/2013 in Uncategorized

As published on on April 4th 2013

April is now upon us, and there’s a fine selection of albums waiting in the wings with which to treat your ears! Music journalist Elaine Buckley has been genre-hopping to bring you the best of the bunch…

The Postal Service – Give Up (Deluxe 10th Anniversary Edition)

The Postal Service are an American electronic group comprising of vocalist Ben Gibbard (he of Death Cab for Cutie fame) and producer Jimmy Tamborello, with Jenny Lewis (she of Rilo Kiley fame) contributing her background vox & keyboard skills.

In a Nutshell:
Yes, I know, including a re-release as part of a preview of ‘new’ albums may seem a bit strange – but this isn’t just ANY re-release, you know. The Postal Service released their debut album Give Up back in 2003 –melodic electro pop at its finest, and somewhat of an instant classic. The various rumours as to whether the band would ever make a second album have lit up and fizzled out throughout the years, but in celebration of Give Up’s 10th anniversary the deluxe edition of the album features two brand new tracks – ‘Turn Around’ and ‘A Tattered Line Of String’ – as well as 13 other bonus treats. But the main event is the ten-track wonder that is the re-mastered original album – for fans to get re-acquainted with, and fans-in-waiting to discover one of the best albums of the modern era that still sounds just fresh as it did a decade ago.

Release Date: April 5th

John Smith – Great Lakes


John Smith is a guitar-toting troubadour hailing from Devon, who has released two solo albums to date – The Fox and the Monk (2006) and Map Or Direction (2009). Smith also frequently lends his talents to Irish super-songstress’ Lisa Hannigan’s live band setup.

In a Nutshell:

John Smith was crowned ‘Young Acoustic Guitarist Of The Year’ back in 2003 – and through his music it’s easy to hear that his instrument is not so much something he plays, but moreso an extension of his person. The magnificence of his guitar fluency is matched only by the beautifully gravelly tones of his voice, and the two combine to form truly beguiling music. Great Lakes could well be the album that makes him – 11 tracks of pure, honest, and completely compelling folk music. Keep an ear out for the afore-mentioned Ms. Hannigan lending her voice to the impossibly charming ‘Salty and Sweet’!

Release Date: April 5th

Paramore – Paramore


Paramore are an American punk-pop powerhouse, led by front-woman Hayley Williams. They have released three albums to date – this, their self-titled fourth album, comes in the wake of the controversial departure of two of the band’s founding members, guitarist Josh Farro and drummer Zac Farro.

In a Nutshell:

Admittedly it’s strange for a band of Paramore’s stature to have a self-titled album at this stage of their career – but, Hayley Williams has clarified just why they’ve done so: “The self-titled aspect of the whole thing is definitely a statement. I feel like it’s not only reintroducing the band to the world, but even to ourselves…” It makes sense given the changes in Paramore personnel since 2009’s all-conquering Brand New Eyes – but how will their new direction match up? With 17 songs on the tracklist, it’s certainly going to be a long listen – get in the mood with preview track ‘Still Into You’, and check out the official video for the album’s lead single ‘Now’ below…

Release Date: April 9th

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Mosquito


Yeah Yeah Yeahs are an indie-rock trio hailing from New York City comprised of Nick Zinner, Brian Chase, and one of the coolest cats on Planet Rock, Karen O.

In a nutshell:

Yeah Yeah Yeahs have released three brilliant albums to date – so the expectations are VERY high for this one. They’ve set the bar very high for themselves, but it would be silly to believe they’re not up to the challenge of matching – or even perhaps beating? – the best of their back catalogue. They teased us with a cryptic preview video back in early January, and then along came lead single ‘Sacrilege’ in late February to increase anticipation thanks to the track’s raucous lead vocals from Karen O, blistering electric guitar riffs, and a gospel choir on backing vocals thrown in for good measure. Don’t let that terrifying album artwork put you off – this is one for the ‘must buy’ shopping list!

Release date: April 15th

Charli XCX – True Romance



Charli XCX is an English singer-songwriter with a serious penchant for pop. She has released various singles, EPs and mixtapes since 2008, as well as featuring on many tracks by other artists including Icona Pop’s 2012 club smash hit ‘I Love It’ – but her very own solo debut album True Romance isn’t far off, and will be with us in just a few short weeks…

In a Nutshell:

Given that True Romance was originally supposed to be released this time last year, I’m sure that fans of Charli XCX sincerely hope that it’s been worth the wait. The 90s-inspired pop starlet has managed to establish quite a name for herself since her humble beginnings – and although many of the 13 tracks within True Romance will have featured elsewhere already, having them collected together in one collection released via a major label will take her to a wider audience – and most likely make her a commercial success. Charli XCX is currently touring Europe supporting Ellie Goulding, and will subsequently move on to support Marina & The Diamonds on her tour of the United States – could we have a pretender to the throne of the reigning Princesses of Pop in the UK?

Release Date: April 15th


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s