Something for the Weekend: Tieranniesaur – ‘DIYSCO’

Posted: 15/03/2013 in Uncategorized

Tieranniesaur

In my humble opinion, Tieranniesaur are one of the best new bands to emerge in recent years – I couldn’t get enough of their self-titled debut album when I first got my mitts on it back in July ’11, and it ranks amongst my favourite Irish albums EVER. Comprised of ten impossibly charming tracks, it’s the type of album which I can ALWAYS rely on to put me in a good mood!

Essentially an Irish ‘super-group’ of sorts (featuring members of Yeh Deadlies and Squarehead amongst others), to me Tieranniesaur encapsulate everything that is unique and exciting about the Popical Island Collective with their completely infectious brand of funky disco-inspired breezy pop.

So I’m very excited to hear that Tieranniesaur have a new album in the works – set for release some time in May – and earlier this week, they released a title-track to give a taster of what to expect. Dance your way into the long weekend with the music video for ‘DIYSCO’


The song is self-described as being “about the joys and tribulations of carving your own path and doing things your own way”. Certainly a welcome message in this day & age.

‘DIYSCO’ will be released as a digital download via Popical Island on April 5th 2013.

Leave a Reply

