Runaway… Thrice.

Posted: 30/05/2011 in Uncategorized

I was making a road-trip playlist last night, and in the process realised that 3 of my favourite songs of recent times are all called ‘Runaway’. Weird.

Runaway #1 – The National  (from High Violet)

I genuinely got goosebumps the first time I heard this song. Its gradual rise & fall is just beyond perfection, and the lyrics are so beautiful. Everytime I hear Matt Berninger ask ‘What makes you think I’m enjoying being led to the flood?’, I feel the magic of that initial first listen. Stunning.

Runaway #2 – Kanye West (from My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy)

My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is a near flawless album, with some absolutly KILLER tracks – both ‘Monster’ and ‘All of the Lights’ will never ever cease to amaze. But it is ‘Runaway’ that remains the standout for me – to hear the most arrogant man on the planet publicly examining his conscience is special in its own right, but when it sounds this dam good, it’d be a shame NOT to listen to it on repeat.

Runaway #3 – Yeah Yeah Yeahs (from It’s Blitz!)

It’s been nearly 2 years since Yeah Yeah Yeahs dropped It’s Blitz! – but it’s still on regular rotation with me, particularly this most magnificent Track 7. It’s dark, it’s eerie, it’s sinister – it’s brilliant. I love you, Karen O… Do come back soon, yeah?

(Obviously I would’ve loved to give an honourable mention to this, but Jim might think it’s a conspiracy so thought the better of it. Sketch…)

Comments
  1. Pretty much every song from High Violet is amazing! I always liked Linkin Park’s ‘Runaway’ but I’m not sure if that’s something that I should admit to!

Leave a Reply

